Phase 1

This phase recognises the importance of developing speaking and listening skills. We identify this phase as ‘tuning in our ears’. This stage is about developing the depth of language experienced by children. The phase is broken into seven aspects. Currently there are no Unlocking Letters and Sounds materials to support parents with this phase. As a result we have found these videos to help you support your child at home. We will replace these materials with Unlocking Letters and Sounds materials as soon as they become available.

1  General sound discrimination – environmental sounds

2  General sound discrimination - instrumental sounds

3  General sound discrimination- body percussion

4 Rhythm and rhyme


5 Alliteration

6 Voice sounds

7 Oral blending and segmenting


Each aspect is divided into three strands

  • Tuning into sounds
  • Listening and remembering sounds
  • Talking about sounds